Step 2 for Being Gracefully Unique: Be Authentic

– Contributed by Big L

In this post, #2 of 7 about being gracefully unique and honouring my values, I’m thinking about how to be authentic.

Authenticity – that feeling of being YOU and bringing the good, the bad, the ugly and the wonderful to the table – is one of the biggest, most important in achieving my goal of having a gracefully unique year.

This clip is an awesome interpretation of how to feel uniquely YOU in any given moment. (As an aside, Garden State is one of my favourite movies – and movie soundtracks – of all time. If you haven’t seen it, you should.)

I may not always make quirky moves and sounds in the run of a day (although sometimes I do!). But in order to feel alive, fulfilled and authentically ME, I want to honour my truths, needs and preferences as much as I can. I want to do things that make me feel GOOOOD, like:

  • Run
  • Practice yoga
  • Avoid dairy
  • Avoid sugar
  • Avoid pop and too much caffeine
  • Laugh
  • Dress the way I want to and have fun with clothes
  • Stretch and shake – get that blood flowing!
  • Drinks loads of water
  • Avoid meetings before 9 a.m.
  • Avoid answering emails on weekends
  • Spend time with my Mom, Dad and Hunny
  • Have girl talk with my favourite girls
  • Send an email or letter to my favourite far-away girls
  • Express anger and let it out, rather than bottle it up
  • Go for a walk in the sun
  • Sit outside, preferably downtown somewhere
  • Push back on a demand or deadline that doesn’t work for me
  • Let something go
  • Be honest with someone
  • Ask questions
  • Do one less thing today than planned
  • Say no to shackles and opt for soul stirring
  • Sit in silence for a while
  • Write a love letter, even if I don’t send it
  • Share positivity with someone
  • Cook something delicious and healthy
  • Hug and kiss
  • Learn something
  • Go somewhere new
  • Brainstorm…even if its with myself

What do you think? Is this a good list? What else should I add? What are things you do to feel unique and honour your truths? Help a sista out!

One response to “Step 2 for Being Gracefully Unique: Be Authentic

  1. read? was that there? LOVE this list – thank you.

Leave a Reply

