Conditionless Love

– Contributed by Wee C

When I was young and I would hit a low point, my mother was always there with arms wide open, a free hand to stroke my head, and her famous line “it’s hard to be a little girl”, which she said to me long after “little girl” was still an appropriate term. Regardless, it was always what I needed to talk me off the ledge. I grew up knowing exactly what unconditional love felt like.

Lately, my mom and dad have been back in full-on support mode. These days, they don’t need to talk me off the ledge…I’ve learned how to stay back from the danger zone…and my mom doesn’t tell me it’s hard to be a little girl any more (although she still strokes my head from time to time), but they’re once again showing me what unconditional love truly means. It’s not big or grandiose. It doesn’t swoon or gush. It doesn’t walk through the door with flowers (although sometimes it does come in the form of a home cooked meal). It’s simply consistent and predictable. It’s being there because you said you would always be there and for no other reason than that. It’s giving what you can, even if that’s only the size of a pebble. It is exactly what it says it is: loving without conditions.

And that’s where I think we as humans falter. Somehow, we’ve learned to love with all kinds of conditions attached to that love. “I’ll love you if you do this”, or “I’ll love you, but only if you don’t do that”. We’ve given one another labels: boyfriend, girlfriend, mother, father, husband, wife. And within those labels we have assigned job descriptions, must-dos, qualifications. We’ve become so tied up in what another person’s “role” is within our lives, that we’ve forgotten what it’s really about: love in the unconditional form. A celebration of who the other person is, not frustration in who they are not.

So, as we approach the Hallmark-sanctioned day of love, here’s my challenge to you. Look at your relationships. How are you applying labels and expectations to others in your lives? What are you telling them they must do in order to earn your love? Have you forgotten what unconditional love looks like? I did. And so did my husband. And the results were disastrous and I fear, irreversible.

Life wraps its grip around all of us, and it’s so easy to say “tomorrow, I’ll be kinder, more loving tomorrow, but today, I’m too stressed, too tired, and you’re annoying me.” What I’ve learned is that at some point, tomorrow simply doesn’t come. And even though deep down you know that you love the people in your life with a love that is so profound it takes your breath away, if you’re not loving them unconditionally, you’re not loving them enough.

I owe my parents a lifetime of gratitude. I can’t remember a single time that they have ever made me feel as though I am a burden or nuisance to them. Yes, arriving late to a family dinner has noticeably annoyed my dad, but a big hug has always been more than enough to wipe the slate clean. And so, these days, as I spend a lot of time looking at what the future will bring, the only thing that I’m sure of is that conditionless love will abound.

5 responses to “Conditionless Love

  1. Thank goodness for parents, as I have only known unconditional love from them too. Sometimes it’s ‘hard to be a big girl’, but you show so much courage at such a difficult time. My heart aches for you….but it is also filled with so much love for you too.

  2. You’re a brave, brave lady Wee C. You’re handling everything you’re going through like a champ. You deserve conditionless love from more than just your parents – you deserve it from friends, business partners, and life partners, regardless of the labels you give those people. Hopefully you’re feeling some of it now, but better yet, allow this time to let you see who those conditionless lovers are and who they’re not. Gravitate toward the right ones and work on building a life with as much of their love in it as you can! xxoo

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Conditionless Love | Comfortably Uncomfortable -- Topsy.com

  4. such a thoughtful post! Parents are incredible – it’s so hard to recreate that in our live sometimes. I think we love people unconditionally but we don’t let things go as easily or bounce back as quickly as we do in the relationships with our parents. That kind of lov is such a rare and special special thing.

  5. Pingback: Different lives; same struggle | Comfortably Uncomfortable

Leave a Reply

