Grateful for Gratitude

– Contributed by Wee C

I’ve been avoiding this blog. I’ve been avoiding writing this post. I’ve been avoiding you all. Even now, I’d really rather hold down the delete button and close the cover on my laptop. In fact, I can feel the chills of stress and anxiety setting in. But, alas, the time has come to soldier on.

You see, life hasn’t been all roses and sunshine lately. In fact, it’s been pretty damned hard. And while I’m not ready to get into the dirty details, suffice it to say that my world has been turned upside down, on top of its head, drowning in a bath of freezing cold water. And, truthfully, I’d rather be curled up by my fireplace with a cup of hot tea and a blanket, thank you very much.

Oh, I knew it had to come some day. Life had been all-too-perfect prior to this. I’ve always said that everyone’s ride will hit a detour some time. Just so happens that now is my time. I wasn’t sure what scenario would lead me here, but I always wondered how I would react, what I would do, when my time came. I imagined myself curled up in bed, balls of tissues practically suffocating me, my oversized hoodie swallowing me up, the blinds drawn into severe darkness. Visions of straight jackets also appeared once or twice. And while I do love a good crisp white blouse, that did feel a titch dramatic.

Truth is, that’s not what happened at all. Ok, well it’s sort of what happened…I haven’t exactly behaved like tears are a precious commodity. But it is true what they say (all those wise people – you know, like Winston Churchill and Voltaire), it is in times of adversity that we find our greatest strength. In my case, it’s where I’m finding my true self.

Over the past four weeks, I’ve seen more of myself than I have in a decade. It’s not for any other reason than that I’m exposed and vulnerable and feeling quite naked (good thing all this stress has resulted in a 10-pound weight loss). I’ve found a strength that I thought had left me a long time ago. But, perhaps most importantly, I’ve found my way back to gratitude. A place that feels so much like home, but one that I had forgotten to visit for far too long.

Let me simply proclaim this. I have been blessed. I am blessed. I will continue to be blessed. My life is rich with blessings. What’s so remarkable to me is the intensity of this feeling at a time when it feels that so much has been taken away. Instead of feeling empty and drained, most days, I’m feeling full. Like a pig feeding at the trough, full. Would I like to get back what I lost? I can’t say yes to that quickly enough. I’d say it a million times over if it would help. But in losing something so big, what I’ve learned is that we can’t ignore what we currently have…today. Not what we wish we had yesterday, not what we long for tomorrow. If I sit here and pine for what I had or what I want, I’m not honouring the love I am currently receiving from friends and family on what seems like an hourly basis. And that love is beyond profound and overwhelmingly generous.

And so, even in the deepest void my life has ever experienced, the water fills in, rises and spills over. It’s here that I realize just how grateful I am for gratitude.

16 responses to “Grateful for Gratitude

  1. beautiful words from a beautiful soul……much love to you

  2. So brave, love you much!! Xo

  3. Fabulous, just like you. You’re brilliant. Love you.

  4. Such brave words, and inspiration to anyone going through a rough patch that gratitude can be partnered with tears

    • Thanks Natalie…a new friend πŸ™‚ And, indeed, not all is lost just because one thing is taken away. Still much for all of us to say thank you for. xoxo

  5. The heart can be shattered, the pain so great you can barely breath; and yet that same broken heart is filled to overflowing with love and gratitude for those: who support you, who encourage you to laugh despite the pain, who love you unconditionally. You and I are blessed to have a remarkable young woman in our lives. She has seen me through more challenges than I can even say. She gave me strength when I had none. Lean on those who love you Wee C. And know that one day, the pain will be gone.
    Much love
    Mama V

  6. Sending you much love and light, my friend. xoxo

  7. brilliant and beautiful.

  8. You are such an inspiration! So many of us just curl up and shut down when we go through difficult times. Hopefully your willingness to share will prevent the rest of us from keeping our troubles bottled up and instead encourage us to open up to our amazing family and friends when we are in need of support!

    • Oh, Faye-little. I’ve never known your to curl up and shut down πŸ™‚ Thanks for your incredible love and support. Love you much! xoxo

  9. Wow, these are really beautiful comments. It’s not even my post, but I feel like replying to all of them! You guys are AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

