Scrambling to catch up to the pack…Reverb 10

This writing every day business is hard, folks. And clearly, I’m having a bit of trouble keeping up with my commitment. So, let’s play a bit of catch up, shall we? I now have FOUR Reverb 10 prompts that I need to cover off. Let’s see if I can write all four in 1,000 words or less. Put the invisible fork away. There will be no eye stabby motion on my blog.

December 6: What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?

The last significant thing I made was brunch. For 20 fabulous gals. Complete with sticky buns (think butter and brown sugar melted together, peppered with pecans), smoked salmon frittata (kicked up with a little goat’s cheese and fresh dill), yummy garlic and herb potatoes, and the best? Eggs baked with mushrooms, inside of a HAM CUP. Please, paint the picture in your mind. I’ll wait. I bet you wanna use that fork for eating now, don’t you? Oh, and there was a little Bellini on the side. That’s right. It was pretty fabulous. And, yes, if I thought I could make a living as a caterer, I would. But with the kind of ingredients I use, I’d lose money on every gig. So, I just delight in the joy of feeding others. Oh, alright, and I delight in the joy of feeding myself.

December 7: Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

When I started 30 Things, I was amazed at the response I got from people cheering me on, encouraging me and really buying into the idea. Over the course of my “things”, I collected a community. People who would help me accomplish an item and help me add it to my list, people who actively began reading the blog, and people who began sharing their innermost thoughts with me because they thought I had something figured out that they didn’t. Over time, more and more like-minded people who wanted to do more with their lives, challenge the status quo, and refused to accept that this is as good as life gets, started to huddle around me. I didn’t notice it was happening because it was subtle but when I finally stopped and looked around, I realized that it was profound. I was having the same conversations about wanting “more” with people I had known for 20 years and people I had known for 20 minutes. My community was fragmented, but we have a strength in vision – to do more with our lives and to live authentically. That is our single rallying cry.

In the next year, I want to unite this community, to light a fire under it and call it to action through a 30 Things online community I want my community to try 30 Things and experience the incredible impact it has on life for themselves. And then I want them to talk the heck out of it – talk to one another, to loved ones, to themselves. It doesn’t matter. I just want these likeminded individuals to gain strength from one another, just as I gained strength from each one of them. Just a small wish for 2011. You know.
December 8: Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful.

I like to think that I see things that others don’t when it comes to relationships, human behaviour and human interactions; that I’m intuitive, sensitive and thoughtful about how and why people do the things they do. And because of that, I’m able to offer insights into life that others can’t see. But, more importantly, it allows me to make connections with people and to help them navigate their own lives in a simpler, more clarified manner. Kind of like a beacon or a lighthouse or some other iconic image of stability and wisdom. Hmmm…somehow this question yielded a very interview-like response. Truthful, but a bit stiff.

December 9: Party. What social gathering rocked your socks off in 2010? Describe the people, music, food, drink, clothes, shenanigans.

Kicking off 2010 with a little murder mystery.

Boy am I ever glad this prompt is at the end of 2010 and not 2009. In the past year, I’ve learned to party. Not foolish, off my rocker, have my stomach pumped at the hospital kind of party, but the relax, let your guard down, and take the know out of your face, kind of party. In fact, I began the year with a party. It was a murder mystery party, set in the ’20s. I was Molly Moll, Notorious Nick the Gansta’s girl, and I was dressed to the nines – red nail polish, feather in the hair, bedazzled headband, quasi-Flapper dress, a honkin fake diamond ring, and of course, a cigarette holder.

As usual, I ate my face off, danced like Elaine on Seinfeld (and, no, this is not an impersonation, my dancing is just downright disturbing), and shared in a celebratory bevy or two. Maybe in 2011, I’ll learn how to be the life of the party…

4 Reverb 10 updates, 877 words. Keep your fork for eating my eggs in a ham cup. You’ll love ’em.

2 responses to “Scrambling to catch up to the pack…Reverb 10

  1. Good job on the word count, you get a gold star!

  2. Pingback: Unshackling Myself – Reverb 10 | Comfortably Uncomfortable

Leave a Reply

