An Appropriate Entry Into 30

-Contributed by Wee C

Well, here it is. 30 is no longer breathing down my neck like a husband who is tired of being at the mall. No, 30 has waltzed into the room, sat down and made itself at home as if has some sort of right to be here. The question of the week has been “what wild and crazy thing will you do to celebrate”? People! C’mon. Have we learned nothing if not that I’m about as far from wild and crazy as Lindsay Lohan is from pure and demure? Yes, I’ve given you all glimmers of hope over the past several months. But a carefee night at a wedding, a couple of school girl-like nights out with the girls, and a particularly uncharacteristic trip to the ever-dirty local strip club does not a wild girl make. But I do appreciate that you’ve continued to hold out hope for me. For the record, I gave up on my aptitude to be a legit party girl months ago. It takes discipline, commitment and enthusiasm that I just don’t have. Party girls of the world, you have my utmost respect. Holla at your girl, as they say. Insert bum giration and slapping of the behind here.

No, I welcomed my 30s as one would expect I should, in true Wee C style. Curled up on my sofa, snoozing away after a 13-hour work day. I woke up just as the clock struck 12, bleary-eyed, staggering, and desperate for bed. It’s almost poetic, really.

I’ll save my full-blown reflective, introspective, ever-so-insightful post about the past year for later this week, after all has been said and done (and you know I will…that’s prime opportunity to to impart life wisdom and insight on all of you, I most definitely could not miss out on that), but what I will tell you is that the next 24 hours holds my last two “30 Things” up its sleeve. Rest assured, not all hope should be lost. I would NEVER have even entertained these last two things this time last year. But let’s just say that they’re big enough “things” that telling you all what they are, well that would be #31 on my list. And let’s face it, that’s outside of the original scope of the project, so it will cost you more. Happy Birthday to me.

2 responses to “An Appropriate Entry Into 30

  1. Happy Birthday!!!

    You should be very proud of yourself! You have stretched your comfort zone in a way that most people never would or even could.

    You are an inspiration!

    I have always wanted to go whale watching but I am afraid of boats, but guess what…I am going whale watching in Cape Breton next month. YAY for me! YAY for you!

    Do you think it’s too late for me to get started on “60 before 60″… I have 6 years in which to do it … that’s only 10 a year … hmmm maybe I have something here.

    Technically, today is #1. I am going away on a retreat, all by myself … again, something I have always wanted to do, but never would.

    You may have created a monster 🙂

  2. Thanks Laura’s Mom 😉 I love that you’re going whale watching and doing a retreat by yourself. Two big items! So, that makes 2 out of 10 already! I’d say you’re well ahead of the game. Here’s to 60 before 60!

Leave a Reply

